Thursday 15 December 2022 7:30PM

Elizabeth Llewellyn soprano; Simon Lepper piano; Zahra Benyounes violin; James Atkinson baritone

Mendelssohn Hall, 17 November 1906


This concert will be approximately 2 hours in duration, including an interval


Login to your Wigmore Hall account to access discounted ticket prices. Ticket bookings are subject to a £4 booking fee. This fee covers the whole booking and is not per ticket.

  • Elizabeth Llewellyn soprano
  • Simon Lepper piano
  • Zahra Benyounes violin
  • James Atkinson baritone

The outstanding soprano herself researched the neglected songs of Coleridge-Taylor for her first solo CD, which was greeted with enormous enthusiasm. Tonight’s programme recreates a concert originally given in New York in 1906 that shows some of the wide range of this fascinating composer.

  • This concert is supported by the Endowment Fund
  • Samuel Coleridge-Taylor (1875-1912)
      • Nero Op. 62
        • Intermezzo
        • Entr'acte No. 1
      • The Young Indian Maid Op. 50 No. 2
      • Beauty and Song Op. 50 No. 3
      • Love's Passing
      • A corn song
      • 2 Oriental Waltzes Op. 19 No. 1
      • Romance in E flat Op. 59 No. 2
      • Hiawatha's Departure from The Song of Hiawatha
        • Spring had come
      • Southern Love Songs Op. 12
        • Minguillo
      • She rested by the Broken Brook
      • Beat, beat drums Op. 45 No. 6
      • 4 African Dances Op. 58

We also recommend