Monday 4 January 2021 1:00PM

Ema Nikolovska mezzo-soprano; Malcolm Martineau piano

Ana Sokolovic, Boulanger, Britten and more


This concert will be live streamed on this website in HD. Watch live here

All live-streamed concerts in the Spring Series will be available on demand for 30 days after the date of the concert.

Log in or create an account on our website to access live streams and our video library. Creating an account only takes two minutes.


  • Ema Nikolovska mezzo-soprano
  • Malcolm Martineau piano

​Macedonian mezzo-soprano Ema Nikolovska, a BBC Radio 3 New Generation Artist, kickstarts the spring season with pianist Malcolm Martineau in a lunchtime programme which begins with songs by Schubert, before venturing into music from 20th-century Czech composers Vítězslava Kaprálová and Antonín Dvořák. The programme includes two songs from Britten’s Op. 41 cycle before ending with Slonimsky’s Five Advertising Songs which demonstrate his trademark humour and wit.

  • Franz Schubert (1797-1828)
      • Mein Gruss an den Mai D305
      • Im Haine D738
      • Die Vögel D691
      • Der Knabe D692
      • Im Frühling D882
  • Vítězslava Kaprálová (1915-1940)
      • Sung into the Distance
        • Spring
        • Under one's breathe
      • Letter
  • Antonín Dvořák (1841-1904)
      • In Folk Tone Op. 73
  • Ana Sokolovic (b.1968)
      • Love Songs
        • Plava zvezda
  • Nadia Boulanger (1887-1979)
      • Cantique
  • Ana Sokolovic
      • Love Songs
        • O Mistress Mine
  • Nadia Boulanger
      • Chanson (Les lilas sont en folie)
  • Benjamin Britten (1913-1976)
      • A Charm of Lullabies Op. 41
        • A Cradle Song
        • Sephestia's Lullaby
  • Nicolas Slonimsky (1894-1995)
      • Five Advertising Songs