Sunday 28 October 2018 11:30AM

Emma Johnson clarinet; Finghin Collins piano

Beethoven, Brahms, Stravinsky, Ravel and Bernstein


This concert will be approximately 1 hour in duration, without an interval

£16Concs£14 includes programme and coffee/sherry/juice.

Ticket bookings are subject to a £3 booking fee. This fee covers the whole booking and is not per ticket.

  • Emma Johnson clarinet
  • Finghin Collins piano

The clarinettist’s programme pays homage to Leonard Bernstein in his centenary year with his first published piece, dating from 1942 and already full of those characteristically jazzy inflections that can also be detected in Stravinsky’s solo pieces of 1919.

  • Ludwig van Beethoven (1770-1827)
        • Variations on 'Là ci darem la mano' from Mozart's 'Don Giovanni' in C major WoO. 28 (arr. Emma Johnson)
  • Johannes Brahms (1833-1897)
        • Clarinet Sonata in F minor Op. 120 No. 1
  • Igor Stravinsky (1882-1971)
        • Three pieces for solo clarinet
  • Maurice Ravel (1875-1937)
        • Pièce en forme de Habanera (arr. for clarinet and piano)
  • Leonard Bernstein (1918-1990)
        • Clarinet Sonata

We also recommend