Saturday 12 June 2021 1:00PM

Emma Johnson clarinet; John Lenehan piano

Bernstein, Emma Johnson, Mozart, Poulenc and Weber


Download the PDF programme here. Reproduction and distribution is strictly prohibited.


  • Emma Johnson clarinet
  • John Lenehan piano

Emma Johnson’s Isolation Lament for solo clarinet was written during the first lockdown in 2020; the rest of her programme ranges from Mozart’s classic quintet through the dazzling technique of Weber’s Grand Duo Concertant, ending with Emma and John’s own take on Bernstein’s effervescent West Side Story.

  • Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart (1756-1791)
      • Clarinet Quintet in A K581
        • IV. Allegretto con variazioni
  • Carl Maria von Weber (1786-1826)
      • Grand Duo Concertant in E flat Op. 48
  • Emma Johnson (b.1966)
      • Isolation Lament
  • Francis Poulenc (1899-1963)
      • Sonata for clarinet and piano
  • Leonard Bernstein (1918-1990)
      • Scenes from West Side Story
        • (arranged by Emma Johnson)
  • Encore
  • Christoph Willibald Gluck (1714-1787)
      • Orfeo ed Euridice
        • Dance of the Blessed Spirits: Lento ('Mélodie')

We also recommend