Wednesday 29 May 2019 7:30PM

The Endellion String Quartet

Beethoven, Beamish, Boondiskulchok and more

Booking information

£5 tickets for Under 35s available. Login to book. View all U35 concerts and more information
Supported by Classic FM.


This concert will be approximately 2 hours in duration, including an interval


Ticket bookings are subject to a £3 booking fee. This fee covers the whole booking and is not per ticket.

  • The Endellion String Quartet

The concert starts with Beethoven’s masterly Op. 18 No. 1, the heartfelt slow movement of which was inspired by Romeo and Juliet. It ends with Schubert’s ‘Death and the Maiden’, whose intensity and lyricism have profoundly touched its listeners from the moment it was first performed. In between, in celebration of its 40th Anniversary, the quartet presents a series of newly commissioned short pieces.

  • Ludwig van Beethoven (1770-1827)
        • String Quartet in F Op. 18 No. 1
  • Sally Beamish (b.1956)
        • New short commissioned work
  • Prach Boondiskulchok (b.1985)
        • New short commissioned work
  • Jonathan Dove (b.1959)
        • New short commissioned work
  • Giles Swayne (b.1946)
        • New short commissioned work
  • Interval
  • Franz Schubert (1797-1828)
        • String Quartet in D minor D810 'Death and the Maiden'

We also recommend