Sunday 22 June 2014 11:30AM

Ensemble Marsyas

Fasch, Handel and Zelenka


  • Ensemble Marsyas
  • Josep Domènech oboe
  • Molly Marsh oboe
  • Peter Whelan bassoon
  • Pamela Thorby recorder
  • Sarah McMahon cello
  • Thomas Dunford theorbo
  • Philippe Grisvard harpsichord

Named after the reed-playing satyr of Greek mythology, Ensemble Marsyas is devoted to the cause of reviving virtuoso woodwind music from the Baroque and Classical periods. The group, which comprises leading period performers from Britain, France, Germany and Spain, offers the chance to hear why Bach admired works by his contemporary Johann Friedrich Fasch, Chapel Master at the tiny German principality of Zerbst.

  • Johann Friedrich Fasch (1688-1758)
        • Sinfonia in B flat for 2 oboes, strings and basso continuo
  • George Frideric Handel (1685-1759)
        • Trio Sonata in G minor HWV393
  • Johann Friedrich Fasch
        • Sonata in C for bassoon and basso continuo
  • George Frideric Handel
        • Recorder Sonata No. 7 in C major HWV365 Op. 1
  • Jan Dismas Zelenka (1679-1745)
        • Sonata No. 5 for 2 oboes, bassoon and basso continuo

We also recommend