Saturday 1 October 2016 7:30PM

Piia Komsi soprano; Calder Quartet

Peter Eötvös and Debussy

Additional notes

Change of Artist
Barbara Hannigan (soprano) has been obliged, for personal reasons and with great regret and disappointment, to withdraw from the planned world première performance of Peter Eötvös’ The Sirens cycle at Wigmore Hall. Piia Komsi (soprano) has very kindly agreed to take over the performance and we are very grateful to her for adjusting her schedule accordingly.


  • Piia Komsi soprano* *Wigmore Hall Debut
  • Calder Quartet

Soprano Piia Komsi, known for her daring musicality and highly expressive performances, is celebrated around the world for her interpretations of contemporary repertoire. She joins the Calder Quartet, winner of the 2014 Avery Fisher Career Grant, for the world première of The SIRENS CYCLE by Peter Eötvös.

The Hungarian composer’s new score for Wigmore Hall explores the full range of Komsi’s striking coloratura voice. The programme opens with Korrespondenz, a series of three vivid ‘scenes’ for string quartet completed in 1993.

  • Peter Eötvös (b.1944)
        • Korrespondenz
  • Claude Debussy (1862-1918)
        • String Quartet in G minor Op. 10
  • Interval
  • Peter Eötvös
        • The SIRENS CYCLE for string quartet and soprano (world première) [1]
  1. Co-commissioned by Tonhalle Society Zürich, Alte Oper Frankfurt, Centro Nacional de Difusion Musical (Madrid), Ircam-Centre Pompidou, Paris, ProQuartet-Centre européen de musique de chambre, Paris, Südwestrundfunk (Kompositionsauftrag des Südwestrundfunks), and by Wigmore Hall with the support of André Hoffmann, president of the Fondation Hoffmann, a Swiss grant-making foundation

We also recommend