Tuesday 5 February 2019 7:30PM

Escher String Quartet

American Exploration: Visits to the New World


  • Escher String Quartet

Inspired by his experiences in the USA, Dvořák composed his ‘American’ Quartet in 1893, while Britten’s First, written in California in 1941, was premièred in Los Angeles the following year and Shostakovich’s Fourth produced shortly after his stateside visit in 1949.

  • Supported by CAVATINA Chamber Music Trust
  • Benjamin Britten (1913-1976)
        • String Quartet No. 1 in D Op. 25
  • Dmitry Shostakovich (1906-1975)
        • String Quartet No. 4 in D Op. 83
  • Interval
  • Antonín Dvořák (1841-1904)
        • String Quartet in F Op. 96 'American'

We also recommend