Wednesday 10 April 2019 7:30PM

Escher String Quartet

Ives, Norman, Copland and Barber


This concert will be approximately 2 hours in duration, including an interval


Priority Bookings made for the Summer booking period of our 2018/19 Season are subject to an administration fee of £4.00 per booking.

Add to wishlist

  • Escher String Quartet

The programme includes a newly-commissioned piece by the much-awarded Andrew Norman, born in Grand Rapids, Michigan in 1979, alongside classic works by Charles Ives and Samuel Barber, whose First Quartet contains his famous Adagio for Strings.

  • Charles Edward Ives (1874-1954)
        • String Quartet No. 2
  • Andrew Norman (b.1979)
        • New work [1]
  • Interval
  • Aaron Copland (1900-1990)
        • 2 Pieces for string quartet
  • Samuel Barber (1910-1981)
        • String Quartet Op. 11
  1. Co-commissioned by Tuesday Musical Association, Chamber Music Society of Palm Beach, Chamber Music Society of Lincoln Center, Wigmore Hall, and Aspen Music Festival and School

We also recommend