Friday 29 November 2019 7:30PM

Fauré Quartet

Rachmaninov, Schumann, Brahms and Musorgsky


  • Fauré Quartet

Founded in 1995 to celebrate the 150th anniversary of Fauré’s birth, the quartet’s members have gone on to open up new territory for chamber groups. Alongside classics of their medium, here they perform transcriptions by the ensemble’s pianist of piano pieces by Rachmaninov.

  • In Memory of Peter Flatter
  • Supported by CAVATINA Chamber Music Trust
  • Sergey Rachmaninov (1873-1943)
        • Etude-tableau in A minor Op. 39 No. 6 (trans. Dirk Mommertz)
        • Etude-tableau in A minor Op. 39 No. 2 (trans. Dirk Mommertz)
  • Robert Schumann (1810-1856)
        • Piano Quartet in E flat Op. 47
  • Interval
  • Johannes Brahms (1833-1897)
        • Piano Quartet No. 2 in A Op. 26
  • Encore
  • Modest Musorgsky (1839-1881)
      • Pictures from an Exhibition
        • XVI. The Great Gate of Kiev (arr. Dirk Mommertz)

We also recommend