Monday 31 January 2022 7:30PM

Francesco Piemontesi piano; Alexi Kenney violin; Daniel Müller-Schott cello

Schubert's Birthday


Download the PDF programme here. Reproduction and distribution is strictly prohibited.


  • Francesco Piemontesi piano
  • Alexi Kenney violin
  • Daniel Müller-Schott cello

A celebration of the composer’s birthday led by expert interpreters includes works beloved by all Schubertians. Composed in 1824 for a bowed guitar that never really caught on, the ‘Arpeggione’ sonata has found its natural home on the cello. The late trio (1827) incorporates a Swedish folksong in a slow movement that has become profoundly loved. In between, the delightful Sonata (or Sonatina) of 1816.

  • Schubert (1797-1828)
      • Arpeggione Sonata in A minor D821
      • Violin Sonata (Sonatina) in D D384
  • Interval
      • Piano Trio No. 2 in E flat D929

We also recommend