Tuesday 22 November 2022 7:30PM

Freiburg Baroque Orchestra

Welcome to all the Pleasures II


This concert will be approximately 2 hours in duration, including an interval


Login to your Wigmore Hall account to access discounted ticket prices. Ticket bookings are subject to a £4 booking fee. This fee covers the whole booking and is not per ticket.

  • Freiburg Baroque Orchestra
  • Kristian Bezuidenhout director, harpsichord
  • Grace Davidson soprano
  • Rachel Redmond soprano
  • Alexander Chance alto
  • Samuel Boden tenor
  • Hugo Hymas tenor
  • David Shipley bass

On St Cecilia’s Day, the German period-instrument orchestra celebrates both Purcell and Handel, the former with a selection of works including the Cecilian ode that gives the programme its title.

  • Henry Purcell (1659-1695)
      • Welcome to all the pleasures (Ode for St Cecilia's Day) Z339
      • The Gordion Knot Unty’d Z597
        • Overture
      • The Fairy Queen Z629
        • Hornpipe
      • The Virtuous Wife, or Good Luck at Last Z611
        • Slow Air
      • The Indian Queen Z630
        • 3rd Act Tune (Rondeau)
      • Chacony in G minor Z730
      • Oh that my grief was throughly weigh’d
      • In Guilty Night (Saul and the Witch of Endor) Z134
      • Hosanna to the highest Z187
      • Who can from joy refrain? (Birthday Ode for the Duke of Gloucester) Z342
  • Interval
  • George Frideric Handel (1685-1759)
      • Trio Sonata in G Op. 5 No. 4 HWV399
        • (arranged by Kristian Bezuidenhout)
      • Chandos Anthem No. 6 'As pants the hart' HWV251b

We also recommend