Wednesday 14 October 2020 7:30PM


Dowland and Williams


This concert will be live streamed on this website in HD. Watch live here

All concerts in the Autumn Series will be available on demand for 30 days after the date of the concert.

Log in or create an account on our website to access live streams and our video library. Creating an account only takes two minutes.

  • Print
  • Email
  • Add to Calendar
  • Fretwork

Since its foundation in 1985, the viol consort has helped disseminate and renew a tradition of music formerly little known beyond a small band of specialists, its extraordinary standard of playing wedded to an approach to repertory that has seen it seek out forgotten music as well as commissioning new works from contemporary composers. In its continued Musick’s Monument series, Fretwork surveys English consort music from Cornysh to Purcell across three seasons. Alongside pieces by the Elizabethan master Dowland is a 2004 work by Adrian Williams that reflects on his pavans.

  • John Dowland (1563-1626)
        • The King of Denmark, his Galliard
        • The Right Honourable Robert, Earl of Essex, his Galliard
        • Sir John Langton his Pavan
        • Sir John Souch’s Galliard
        • Captain Piper his Galliard
        • Piper's Pavan for solo lute
        • Mr Henry Noel his Galliard
        • Mr Giles Hoby his Galliard
        • Sir Henry Umpton's Funerall
        • Mrs Nichols Almand
        • Mr Nicholas Gryffith his Galliard
        • Fantasia in G for solo lute
        • Mr George Whitehead his Almand
        • Mr Bucton's Galliard
        • Semper Dowland semper dolens
  • Adrian Williams (b.1956)
        • Teares to Dreames
  • John Dowland
        • Lachrimae

Related Series