Friday 10 June 2022 1:00PM

Gavin Plumley presenter; Alessandro Fisher tenor; Anna Tilbrook piano; Chloë Hanslip violin

Gavin Plumley Book Launch: 'A Home for all Seasons'

Booking information

This event is part of the CAVATINA 25 Scheme. A limited number of free tickets are available to 25 and unders in rows T to V. Log in to book.

£5 tickets for Under 35s available. Login to book. View all U35 concerts and more information

£5 tickets for Under 35s supported by Media Partner Classic FM


This concert will be approximately 80 minutes in duration, without an interval

£30£16concs£14£30 ticket price includes a copy of A Home for All Seasons

Login to your Wigmore Hall account to access discounted ticket prices. Ticket bookings are subject to a £4 booking fee. This fee covers the whole booking and is not per ticket.

  • Gavin Plumley presenter
  • Alessandro Fisher tenor
  • Anna Tilbrook piano
  • Chloë Hanslip violin

The wide-ranging cultural historian Gavin Plumley published his first book earlier this year – described as ‘both a sweeping history and an intimate account of making a home, told through the prism of a cottage on the edge of England.’ The book launch itself is aptly illustrated by leading artists performing English music.

  • This concert is part of the CAVATINA Chamber Music Trust ticket scheme, offering free tickets to those aged 8-25
  • William Byrd (c.1540-1623)
      • The woods so wild for solo piano
  • Peter Warlock (1894-1930)
      • The Wind from the West
  • Herbert Howells (1892-1983)
      • Pastorale Op. 28 No. 1 for violin and piano
  • Ralph Vaughan Williams (1872-1958)
      • On Wenlock Edge
        • Is my team ploughing?
  • Benjamin Britten (1913-1976)
      • The trees they grow so high
  • Ralph Vaughan Williams
      • 8 Traditional English Carols
        • The truth sent from above
  • Benjamin Britten
      • A Boy was Born Op. 3
        • Corpus Christi Carol
  • Ralph Vaughan Williams
      • The Lark Ascending for violin and piano
  • Gerald Finzi (1901-1956)
      • Dies Natalis Op. 8
        • Rhapsody
  • Edward Elgar (1857-1934)
      • Sospiri Op. 70 for violin and piano

We also recommend