Wednesday 27 November 1901 3:00PM

Gottfried Galston piano

JS Bach, Brahms, Schubert and more


  • Gottfried Galston piano* *Wigmore Hall Debut

Gottfried Galston was born in 1879 in Vienna, where he studied at the Gesellschaft der Musikfreunde and later with Leschetizky.

His first concerts in 1900 were well received and he went on to tour America and Australia as well as giving concerts throughout Europe. Often taking an analytical approach to the music he played, in 1910 he published a Studienbuch in which he detailed the technique and process he had brought to his performances of the music of Bach, Brahms, Beethoven, Chopin and Liszt.

  • Johann Sebastian Bach (1685-1750)
      • Toccata and Fugue in F major BWV540
        • I. Toccata
  • Johannes Brahms (1833-1897)
        • Variations and Fugue on a Theme by GF Handel in B flat major Op. 24
        • Intermezzo in E minor Op. 119 No. 2
        • Intermezzo in B minor Op. 119 No. 1 (given as Op. 76)
        • 16 Waltzes Op. 39 (selection?)
      • Two Rhapsodies Op. 79
        • Rhapsody in G minor
  • Franz Schubert (1797-1828)
        • 12 Deutsche Ländler D790
  • Eugen d'Albert (1864-1932)
      • 4 Pieces for Piano Op. 16
        • No. 2 Scherzo in F sharp major
  • Ede Poldini (1869-1957)
        • 2 Études Op. 27
  • Anton Rubinstein (1829-1894)
        • Concert Etude on False Notes in C major

We also recommend