Sunday 16 October 2011 11:30AM

Guy Johnston cello; Melvyn Tan piano

Mendelssohn and Rubinstein


  • Guy Johnston cello
  • Melvyn Tan piano

A former BBC Young Musician of the Year, cellist Guy Johnston teams up with pianist Melvyn Tan for a Coffee Concert coupling two Romantic sonatas. Anton Rubinstein’s youthful First Sonata marries the poise of Mendelssohn with the bravura Russian virtuoso school, while Mendelssohn’s own Second Sonata reflects his profound involvement with the music of Bach.

  • Felix Mendelssohn (1809-1847)
        • Cello Sonata No. 2 in D major Op. 58
  • Anton Rubinstein (1829-1894)
        • Cello Sonata No. 1 in D major Op. 18

We also recommend