Sunday 18 July 2021 11:30AM

Guy Johnston cello; Sam Haywood piano

Beethoven, Grieg and Webern


Download the PDF programme here. Reproduction and distribution is strictly prohibited.


  • Guy Johnston cello
  • Sam Haywood piano

The British duo’s programme opens with Grieg’s 1883 sole cello sonata, which includes material from both an earlier funeral march and a wedding march, and ends with Beethoven’s middle-period masterpiece (1809).

  • Edvard Grieg (1843-1907)
      • Cello Sonata in A minor Op. 36
  • Anton Webern (1883-1945)
      • 3 little pieces Op. 11
  • Ludwig van Beethoven (1770-1827)
      • Cello Sonata in A Op. 69

We also recommend