Sunday 30 April 2017 7:30PM

Hagen Quartet

Schubert and Beethoven

Booking information

This concert is part of Chamber Zone, a free ticket scheme for young people aged 8-25 years old: Please call the Box Office on 020 7935 2141 and quote “Chamber Zone” to book


This concert will be approximately 2 hours in duration, including an interval


Ticket bookings are subject to a £2.00 booking fee. This fee covers the whole booking and is not per ticket.

  • Hagen Quartet

By the time young Schubert created his String Quartet in E flat in 1813, the teenager had already completed nine other works for string quartet.

The Hagen Quartet presents the composer’s tuneful early piece in company with Beethoven’s final complete quartet and Schubert’s ‘Death and the Maiden’, a shattering confrontation with despair and human suffering.

  • Supported by CAVATINA Chamber Music Trust
  • Franz Schubert (1797-1828)
        • String Quartet in E flat D87
  • Ludwig van Beethoven (1770-1827)
        • String Quartet in F major Op. 135
  • Interval
  • Franz Schubert
        • String Quartet in D minor D810 'Death and the Maiden'

We also recommend