Monday 30 November 2015 7:30PM

Bejun Mehta countertenor; La Nuova Musica; David Bates director

Yet, can I hear that dulcet lay

Additional notes

Change of Running Order
The running order for this concert has changed from previously advertised and will now be as listed below.


  • Bejun Mehta countertenor
  • La Nuova Musica
  • David Bates director

Under the inspirational leadership of David Bates, La Nuova Musica has risen rapidly to prominence in the early music world.

The ensemble is joined by the American countertenor Bejun Mehta, critically acclaimed for his ‘heartbreakingly beautiful’ tone and ‘overwhelming’ expression, qualities sure to complement the musical demands set by this programme of Baroque cantatas and arias.

  • George Frideric Handel (1685-1759)
      • Cantata: Siete rose rugiadose HWV162
        • Siete rose rugiadose
        • Cantata: Mi palpita il cor HWV132c
  • Henry Purcell (c.1659-1695)
      • King Arthur z628
        • A Symphony, A Song and Chaccone
  • Alessandro Scarlatti (1660-1725)
        • Cantata: Perchè tacete, regolati concenti?
  • Interval
  • Johann Christoph Bach (1642-1703)
        • Ach, dass ich Wassers gnug hätte (Lamento)
  • Antonio Vivaldi (1678-1741)
        • Pianti, sospiri e demandar mercede RV676
  • Heinrich Biber (1644-1704)
        • Mensa Sonora Suite III in A minor
  • Melchior Hoffmann (c.1679-1715)
        • Schlage doch, gewünschte Stunde
  • George Frideric Handel
      • The Choice of Hercules HWV69
        • Part 2 No. 10 Yet can I hear that dulcet lay

We also recommend