Sunday 17 April 2016 11:30AM

Elias String Quartet; Kungsbacka Piano Trio



  • Elias String Quartet
  • Sara Bitlloch violin
  • Donald Grant violin
  • Martin Saving viola
  • Marie Bitlloch cello
  • Kungsbacka Piano Trio
  • Malin Broman violin
  • Jesper Svedberg cello
  • Simon Crawford-Phillips piano

Brahms composed the last of his three piano trios during the summer of 1886, in a rented villa near Lake Thun in Switzerland.

Clara Schumann praised her friend’s ‘wonderfully gripping’ work, commending ‘its power of thought, its gracefulness, its poetry’.

Members of the Kungsbacka Piano Trio join the Elias String Quartet in Brahms’s G major String Sextet, a work of Schubertian warmth and lyricism.

  • Coffee for the Sunday Morning Coffee Concert Series is generously provided by Café de Colombia
  • Johannes Brahms (1833-1897)
        • Piano Trio No. 3 in C minor Op. 101
        • Sextet No. 2 in G major Op. 36

We also recommend