Sunday 17 April 2022 11:30AM

Cancelled: Heath Quartet

Janáček, Purcell and Schulhoff


Download the PDF programme here. Reproduction and distribution is strictly prohibited.

Change of Running Order
The running order of the above concert has changed and will now be as follows:


  • Heath Quartet
  • Sara Wolstenholme violin
  • Marije Johnston violin
  • Gary Pomeroy viola
  • Christopher Murray cello

Marking its 20th anniversary this year, the ensemble was formed at the Royal Northern College of Music and went on to receive the Royal Philharmonic Society’s Young Artists Award in 2013, as well as a Gramophone Chamber Award for its recording of Tippett’s string quartets three years later. Its programme includes fantasias by Purcell originally conceived for viol consort and a 1923 suite of dances, written by the Czech composer who studied with Debussy and dedicated to Darius Milhaud.

  • This concert is part of the CAVATINA Chamber Music Trust ticket scheme, offering free tickets to those aged 8-25
  • Erwin Schulhoff (1894-1942)
      • 5 Pieces for String Quartet
  • Henry Purcell (1659-1695)
      • Fantasia a4 No. 6 in F Z737
      • Fantasia a4 No. 7 in C minor Z738
      • Fantasia a4 No. 11 in G Z742
  • Leoš Janáček (1854-1928)
      • String Quartet No. 2 'Intimate Letters'

We also recommend