Sunday 24 September 2017 7:30PM

Heath Quartet; Hannes Minnaar piano

Haydn, Jörg Widmann and Shostakovich

Booking information

£5 tickets are available to this concert for Under 35s More Information


This concert will be approximately 2 hours in duration, including an interval


Ticket bookings are subject to a £2.00 booking fee. This fee covers the whole booking and is not per ticket.

  • Print
  • Email
  • Add to Calendar
  • Heath Quartet
  • Hannes Minnaar piano

The Heath Quartet trains the spotlight on the first of Haydn’s ‘Russian’ Quartets, a work that combines pathos and popular melodies, grace and dark humour.

The Heaths also open their season-long survey of Jörg Widmann’s five string quartets with the German composer’s first foray into the genre, an entrancing twelve-minute adventure in textural and tonal possibilities.

  • Joseph Haydn (1732-1809)
        • String Quartet in B minor Op. 33 No. 1
  • Jörg Widmann (b.1973)
        • String Quartet No. 1
  • Interval
  • Dmitry Shostakovich (1906-1975)
        • Piano Quintet in G minor Op. 57

We also recommend