Friday 20 July 2018 10:00PM

Heath Quartet; Ruth Gibson viola; Marie Bitlloch cello

Bach, Widmann and Schoenberg

Additional notes

Please note the starting time is 10:00pm


This concert will be approximately 1 hour in duration, without an interval


Priority Bookings made for the Spring booking period of our 2017/18 season are subject to an administration fee of £3.00 per booking.

Add to wishlist

  • Heath Quartet
  • Ruth Gibson viola
  • Marie Bitlloch cello

The Heath Quartet opens with pieces from Bach’s Little Organ Book, which flow into Jörg Widmann’s ‘Choralquartett’, with its ghostly, disruptive mix of sound and silence.

Schoenberg’s richly chromatic Verklärte Nacht, a symphonic poem for string sextet, completes this compelling programme.

  • Johann Sebastian Bach (1685-1750)
        • Wenn wir in höchsten Nöten sein BWV641
        • Das alte Jahr vergangen ist (I) BWV614
        • O Mensch, bewein dein Sünde gross BWV622
  • Jörg Widmann (b.1973)
        • String Quartet No. 2 'Choralquartett'
  • Arnold Schoenberg (1874-1951)
        • Verklärte Nacht Op. 4

We also recommend