Wednesday 12 January 2022 7:30PM

Hilary Hahn violin; Andreas Haefliger piano



This concert is currently on advance sale to Friends of Wigmore Hall. For Friends booking dates, please visit our Priority Booking page. For information on becoming a Friend, please visit our Friends page.

If you are a Friend of Wigmore Hall and it is your time to book, please sign in at the top of the page.

General sale for this concert will open at 10:00AM on Tuesday 30 November.


This concert will be approximately 2 hours in duration, including an interval


Login to your Wigmore Hall account to access discounted ticket prices. Ticket bookings are subject to a £4 booking fee. This fee covers the whole booking and is not per ticket.

  • Hilary Hahn violin
  • Andreas Haefliger piano

Beethoven’s final two violin sonatas performed by two of today’s finest soloists, here working as a duo. The ‘Kreutzer’ sonata was written in 1803 for the Afro-Polish violinist George Bridgetower, with whom the composer subsequently fell out; this gifted Black performer spent much of his life in England and died in Peckham in 1860. (The eventual dedicatee, Rodolphe Kreutzer, never played the piece.) Written for virtuoso Philippe Rode, the Op. 96 work (1812) marks a point at which Beethoven’s late style might be said to begin.

  • Ludwig van Beethoven (1770-1827)
      • Violin Sonata No. 9 in A Op. 47 'Kreutzer'
  • Interval
      • Violin Sonata No. 10 in G Op. 96

We also recommend