Sunday 9 June 2019 11:30AM

Hugo Wolf Quartett

Haydn, Komitas and Janáček


  • Hugo Wolf Quartett

Honouring the Austrian composer in their name, the 26-year-old ensemble’s programme includes an unusual item in transcriptions of Armenian folk music by the priest, musicologist and composer Komitas (1869-1935), also known as Soghomon Soghomonian, a pioneer collector of such material.

  • Joseph Haydn (1732-1809)
        • String Quartet in G minor Op. 20 No. 3
  • Komitas (1869-1935)
      • Armenian Folksongs
        • She is slender like a plane tree (arr. Sergey Aslamazyan)
        • Oh Nazan (arr. Sergey Aslamazyan)
        • Echmiadzin dance (arr. Sergey Aslamazyan)
        • Clouds (arr. Sergey Aslamazyan)
  • Leoš Janáček (1854-1928)
        • String Quartet No. 1 'Kreutzer Sonata'

We also recommend