Thursday 10 December 2015 7:30PM

I Fagiolini; Anna Markland; Matthew Long; Roderick Williams



  • I Fagiolini
  • Anna Markland piano
  • Matthew Long tenor
  • Roderick Williams baritone

I Fagiolini, founded by Robert Hollingworth almost thirty years ago, remains at the forefront of exploration and adventure in the performance of music for vocal ensemble.

This programme celebrates the group’s love of French music, and includes a rare performance of Jean Francaix’s humorous but beautiful ‘Ode to gastronomy’ for twelve voices.

In addition, to mark the 50th birthday of Roderick Williams, whose solo singing career arose from his years with I Fagiolini, this programme includes his moving arrangement of the Adagio from Ravel’s Piano Concerto in G and ‘Is 5’, an original work setting the poetry of e. e. cummings, composed for I Fagiolini in 1995.

  • Francis Poulenc (1899-1963)
        • Sept Chansons
  • Gabriel Fauré (1845-1924)
        • Poème d’un jour Op. 21
  • Jean Françaix (1912-1997)
        • Ode à la gastronomie (London première)
  • Interval
  • Darius Milhaud (1892-1974)
        • Deux poèmes Op. 39
  • Maurice Ravel (1875-1937)
      • Piano Concerto in G major
        • II. Adagio (arr. Roderick Williams for piano and voices)
  • Roderick Williams (b.1965)
        • Is 5

We also recommend