Tuesday 7 December 2021 7:30PM

I Musicanti

Leon Bosch 60th Birthday Year Concert


Download the PDF programme here. Reproduction and distribution is strictly prohibited.


  • I Musicanti
  • Tamás András violin
  • Benedict Holland violin
  • Robert Smissen viola
  • Richard Harwood cello
  • Leon Bosch double bass
  • Rebeca Omordia piano

The acclaimed double bass player – also familiar as a conductor, writer and broadcaster – celebrates his 60th birthday year with the ensemble he founded in 2013 and with which he has explored a wide range of music, much of it neglected. He includes his own arrangement of Beethoven’s early (1800) horn sonata, plus a new solo work by a fellow South African based on that country’s national anthem.

  • Supported by CAVATINA Chamber Music Trust
  • Giovanni Bottesini (1821-1889)
      • Grand Quintet in C minor Op. 99
  • Ludwig van Beethoven (1770-1827)
      • Horn Sonata in F Op. 17
        • (transcribed by Leon Bosch)
  • Giovanni Bottesini
      • Elegy No. 1
      • Tarantella
  • Interval
  • Grant McLachlan (b.1956)
      • Yihle Moya
  • Antonín Dvořák (1841-1904)
      • String Quintet in G Op. 77

We also recommend