Sunday 9 July 2017 7:30PM

Ian Bostridge tenor; Graham Johnson piano



This concert will be approximately 2 hours in duration, including an interval


Ticket bookings are subject to a £2.00 booking fee. This fee covers the whole booking and is not per ticket.

  • Ian Bostridge tenor
  • Graham Johnson piano

Schubert’s creative quest drew energy and inspiration from poetry’s potential to unlock fresh ways of being.

Ian Bostridge and Graham Johnson begin by exploring the diverse styles present in the young composer’s songs of 1815–16 before fathoming his striking experiments with the spiritual poetry of Novalis’s Hymnen and closing with five sublime masterworks from the early 1820s.

    • SONGS 1815-1816
  • Franz Schubert (1797-1828)
        • Der Geistertanz D116
        • Als ich sie erröten sah D153
        • Die Mainacht D194
        • Seufzer D198
        • Die Fröhlichkeit D262
        • Der Jüngling an der Quelle D300
        • An mein Klavier D342
        • Am Tage aller Seelen D343
        • Pflügerlied D392
        • Die Knabenzeit D400
        • Winterlied D401
        • Stimme der Liebe D412
  • Interval
  • Franz Schubert
        • Abendbilder D650
        • Hymne I D659
        • Hymne II D660
        • Hymne III D661
        • Hymne IV D662
        • Nachthymne D687
    • SONGS 1822-1823 (In the shadow of the Müllerin)
  • Franz Schubert
        • Schwestergruss D762
        • Drang in die Ferne D770
        • Der zürnende Barde D785
        • Das Geheimnis D793
        • Auf dem Wasser zu singen D774

We also recommend