Friday 4 December 2015 7:30PM

Iestyn Davies countertenor; Allan Clayton tenor; James Baillieu piano

Purcell, Britten, Thomas Adès, Nico Muhly and Barber


  • Iestyn Davies countertenor
  • Allan Clayton tenor
  • James Baillieu piano

American composer Nico Muhly’s feeling for the sounds and clarity of pre-Classical music has proved a strong influence on his acclaimed work.

His new score crowns an ear-catching programme shrewdly devised by James Baillieu to spotlight the highest levels of invention and sophistication of English and American song.

  • Henry Purcell (c.1659-1695)
        • Music for a while Z583 (arr. Sir Michael Tippett)
        • Sweeter than roses Z585 (arr. Benjamin Britten)
        • Full fathom five Z631 (arr. Thomas Adès)
  • Benjamin Britten (1913-1976)
        • Canticle I: My beloved is mine Op. 40
  • Thomas Adès (b.1971)
        • The Lover in Winter
  • Benjamin Britten
        • Canticle II: Abraham and Isaac Op. 51
  • Interval
  • Nico Muhly (b.1981)
        • Lorne ys my likinge (world première) [1]
  • Samuel Barber (1910-1981)
      • 3 Songs (James Joyce) Op. 10
        • Rain has fallen
        • Sleep now
        • I hear an army
  • Nico Muhly
        • Four Traditional Songs
  • Benjamin Britten
        • Sally in our Alley
        • The Plough Boy
        • I wonder as I wander
        • Oliver Cromwell
  • Henry Purcell
        • Lost is my quiet forever Z502 (arr. Benjamin Britten)
        • Sound the trumpet Z323 (arr. Benjamin Britten)
  • Encore
  • Benjamin Britten
        • The Deaf Woman’s Courtship
  1. Co-commissioned by Wigmore Hall with the support of André Hoffmann, president of the Fondation Hoffmann, a Swiss grant-making foundation, by the Borletti-Buitoni Trust, and anonymous donors

We also recommend