Thursday 21 May 2020 7:30PM

Iestyn Davies countertenor; Allan Clayton tenor; James Newby baritone; Alec Frank-Gemmill horn; Olivia Jageurs harp; James Baillieu piano



This concert will be approximately 2 hours in duration, including an interval


Ticket bookings are subject to a £3 booking fee. This fee covers the whole booking and is not per ticket.

  • Iestyn Davies countertenor
  • Allan Clayton tenor
  • James Newby baritone
  • Alec Frank-Gemmill horn
  • Olivia Jageurs harp
  • James Baillieu piano

A team of exceptional singers and musicians come together to perform all five of Britten’s canticles: the third, Still Falls the Rain, received its first performance at a memorial concert at Wigmore Hall in 1955.

  • Supported by the members of the Rubinstein Circle
  • The Britten Series is made possible with support from the Wigmore Hall Endowment Fund
  • Benjamin Britten (1913-1976)
        • Canticle I: My beloved is mine Op. 40
        • Canticle II: Abraham and Isaac Op. 51
        • Canticle III: Still Falls the Rain - the Raids, 1940, Night and Dawn Op. 55
        • Canticle IV: Journey of the Magi Op. 86
        • Canticle V: The Death of Saint Narcissus Op. 89

We also recommend