Sunday 22 March 2020 7:30PM

Cancelled: Iestyn Davies countertenor; Thomas Dunford lute

England’s Orpheus


Cancelled Concert
In response to advice from Public Health England, Wigmore Hall will be closed from Tuesday 17 March. This event has therefore been cancelled.

Read a full statement from Wigmore Hall Director John Gilhooly.


  • Iestyn Davies countertenor
  • Thomas Dunford lute

In the countertenor’s collaboration with a leading lutenist, the works of the ‘Orpheus Britannicus’ are placed in the context of his musical predecessors and descendants.

  • Henry Purcell (c.1659-1695)
        • Lord, what is man? (A Divine Hymn) Z192
        • Sweeter than roses Z585
  • Marin Marais (1656-1728)
        • Les Voix Humaines
  • Robert de Visée (c.1655-1732)
        • Chaconne
  • George Frideric Handel (1685-1759)
        • Hendel, non può mia musa HWV117
  • John Dowland (1563-1626)
        • Preludium
        • Behold a wonder here
        • Flow my tears
        • Can she excuse my wrongs
        • Lachrimae
        • The Frog Galliard
  • George Frideric Handel
      • Radamisto HWV12
        • Ombra cara di mia sposa
  • Interval
  • Henry Purcell
      • Incidental music for Oedipus, King of Thebes Z583
        • Music for a while
  • Johann Sebastian Bach (1685-1750)
      • Cello Suite No. 1 in G BWV1007
        • I. Prélude
  • John Dowland
        • Come again, sweet love doth now invite
  • Johann Sebastian Bach
      • Cello Suite No. 1 in G BWV1007
        • II. Allemande
  • Henry Purcell
        • O solitude, my sweetest choice Z406
  • Johann Sebastian Bach
      • Cello Suite No. 2 in D minor BWV1008
        • III. Courante
      • Cello Suite No. 1 in G BWV1007
        • IV. Sarabande
  • George Frideric Handel
      • Saul HWV53
        • O Lord, whose mercies numberless
  • Johann Sebastian Bach
      • Cello Suite No. 1 in G BWV1007
        • V. Menuett I and II
        • VI. Gigue
  • Henry Purcell
        • Now that the sun hath veiled his light (An Evening Hymn on a Ground) Z193

We also recommend