Monday 22 June 2020 1:00PM

Iestyn Davies countertenor; Elizabeth Kenny lute

Purcell, Dowland, Campion and more


This concert was part of the Wigmore Hall BBC Radio 3 June 2020 Special Broadcast series.


  • Iestyn Davies countertenor
  • Elizabeth Kenny lute

Celebrated countertenor Iestyn Davies presents a programme with one of Europe’s leading lute players, Elizabeth Kenny. Together they explore repertoire from the 16th to 19th centuries, including some of Kenny’s own lute arrangements of works by Henry Purcell.

The video of this concert is no longer online, but over 40 other concert videos are available to watch here: Wigmore Hall Concert Video Library

  • Wigmore Hall's live stream of this concert is supported by Hamish Parker
  • Henry Purcell (c.1659-1695)
      • Come, ye sons of art, away Z323
        • Strike the viol, touch the lute
      • Now Does the Glorious Day Appear (Ode for Queen Mary's Birthday) Z332
        • By beauteous softness mixed with majesty
        • Lord, what is man? (A Divine Hymn) Z192
        • Rigadoon (arr. Elizabeth Kenny)
        • Sefauchi's Farewell Z656 (arr. Elizabeth Kenny)
        • Lilbulero Z646
  • John Dowland (1563-1626)
        • Behold a wonder here
  • Thomas Campion (1567-1620)
        • The sypres curten of the night is spread
  • Robert Johnson (c.1583-1633)
        • Fantasia
  • John Dowland
        • Sorrow, stay, lend true repentant tears
        • The King of Denmark, his Galliard
  • Thomas Campion
        • I care not for these ladies
  • Anon
        • Mr Confess' Coranto
  • Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart (1756-1791)
        • Abendempfindung K523
  • Franz Schubert (1797-1828)
        • Heidenröslein D257
        • Am Tage aller Seelen D343
  • Encore
  • George Frideric Handel (1685-1759)
      • L’Allegro, il Penseroso ed il Moderato HWV55
        • Hide me from day's garish eye

Related Series