Monday 16 September 2019 7:30PM

Iestyn Davies countertenor; The English Concert; Trevor Pinnock director, harpsichord

Iestyn Davies 40th Birthday Concert


This concert will be approximately 2 hours in duration, including an interval


Priority Bookings made for our 2019/20 Season Autumn concerts are subject to an administration fee of £4.00 per booking.

  • Iestyn Davies countertenor
  • The English Concert
  • Trevor Pinnock director, harpsichord

With his long-term colleagues The English Concert, Iestyn celebrates his birthday surveying concertos by Handel. Davies includes arias from L’Allegro, il Penseroso ed il Moderato, commonly interspersed with the concerti, and from Handel’s sole Venetian opera.

  • George Frideric Handel (1685-1759)
        • Concerto Grosso in G Op. 6 No. 1
      • Agrippina HWV6
        • Coronato il crin d'alloro
        • Tacerò, tacerò
      • Agrippina HWV6
        • Otton, qual portentoso fulmine ... Voi che udite il mio lamento
        • Concerto Grosso in G minor Op. 6 No. 6
  • Interval
        • Concerto Grosso in F Op. 6 No. 9
      • L’Allegro, il Penseroso ed il Moderato HWV55
        • Sometimes let gorgeous tragedy
        • Hide me from day's garish eye
        • May at last my weary age
        • Concerto Grosso in D Op. 6 No. 5

We also recommend