Tuesday 22 February 2022 7:30PM

Ignat Solzhenitsyn piano; Simon Barrad baritone; Timothy Ridout viola



This concert will be approximately 2 hours in duration, including an interval


Login to your Wigmore Hall account to access discounted ticket prices. Ticket bookings are subject to a £4 booking fee. This fee covers the whole booking and is not per ticket.

  • Ignat Solzhenitsyn piano
  • Simon Barrad baritone
  • Timothy Ridout viola

Two very late works by Shostakovich form the programme, with the wide-ranging American baritone taking the solo part in the Michelangelo settings (1974) while the English violist also joins with the Russian-American pianist and conductor in the sonata which proved to be the composer’s final composition, completed just two weeks before his death in 1975.

  • Dmitry Shostakovich (1906-1975)
      • Suite on Verses of Michelangelo Buonarroti Op. 145
  • Interval
      • Viola Sonata Op. 147

We also recommend