Friday 13 April 2018 7:30PM

Igor Levit piano

Mendelssohn, Mahler and Frederic Rzewski

Additional notes

Change of Programme
The programme for the this concert has changed slightly and will now be as listed below.


  • Igor Levit piano

During his student days Igor Levit, captivated by Frederic Rzewski’s music, asked the composer to write a new piece – which he did. Their deep artistic friendship continues with the première of a special Wigmore Hall commission to celebrate Rzewski’s 80th birthday.

  • Frederic Rzewski (b.1938)
        • Ages (world première) [1]
  • Felix Mendelssohn (1809-1847)
        • Song without Words in E major Op. 19b No. 1
        • Song without Words in A major Op. 19b No. 4
        • Song without Words in A flat major 'Duetto' Op. 38 No. 6
  • Gustav Mahler (1860-1911)
      • Symphony No. 10
        • I. Adagio (trans. Ronald Stevenson)
  1. Commissioned by Wigmore Hall with the generous support of Annette Scawen Morreau

We also recommend