Sunday 25 September 2022 7:30PM

Igor Levit piano

Brahms, Fred Hersch, Liszt and Wagner


This concert will be approximately 2 hours in duration, including an interval


Login to your Wigmore Hall account to access discounted ticket prices. Ticket bookings are subject to a £4 booking fee. This fee covers the whole booking and is not per ticket.

  • Igor Levit piano

Composed in 1896, just one year before the composer’s death, Brahms’s 11 Chorale Preludes for organ were published posthumously six years later; Busoni immediately transcribed four of them for piano. Igor Levit also includes his late Hungarian pianist colleague’s Wagner transcription, and a set of variations by the multi-award winning jazz pianist which he premièred at Carnegie Hall in January.

  • Johannes Brahms (1833-1897)
      • 11 Chorale Preludes Op. 122
        • Herzlich tut mich erfreuen (transcribed by Ferruccio Busoni)
        • Schmücke dich, o liebe Seele (transcribed by Ferruccio Busoni)
        • Es ist ein Ros entsprungen (transcribed by Ferruccio Busoni)
        • Herzlich tut mich verlangen (transcribed by Ferruccio Busoni)
        • Herzlich tut mich verlangen (second setting) (transcribed by Ferruccio Busoni)
        • O Welt, ich muss dich lassen (transcribed by Ferruccio Busoni)
  • Fred Hersch (b.1955)
      • Variations on a Folk Song
  • Interval
  • Richard Wagner (1813-1883)
      • Tristan und Isolde
        • Prelude (transcribed by Zoltán Kocsis)
  • Franz Liszt (1811-1886)
      • Piano Sonata in B minor S178

We also recommend