Sunday 31 March 2013 11:30AM

Imani Winds

Mendelssohn, Ravel, Carter, Barber and Coleman


  • Imani Winds

Repertoire diversity, multicultural bridge-building and scintillating ensemble playing are among the sterling qualities owned by Imani Winds. The New York-based quintet’s 2006 album, The Classical Underground, received a Grammy Award nomination and generated a thick folder of five-star reviews. Its spirit of musical adventure courses through this concert, which includes Tzigane by the group’s flautist, Valerie Coleman, Elliott Carter’s piquant Woodwind Quartet of 1948 and a jaw-droppingly beautiful arrangement of Ravel’s Le tombeau de Couperin.

  • Felix Mendelssohn (1809-1847)
      • A Midsummer Night's Dream Op. 61
        • I. Scherzo
  • Maurice Ravel (1875-1937)
        • Le tombeau de Couperin (arr. Mason Jones )
  • Elliott Carter (1908-2012)
        • Woodwind Quintet
  • Samuel Barber (1910-1981)
        • Summer Music Op. 31
  • Valerie Coleman
        • Tzigane

We also recommend