Monday 15 June 2020 1:00PM

Imogen Cooper piano

Schubert, Beethoven and Janáček


This concert was part of the Wigmore Hall BBC Radio 3 June 2020 Special Broadcast series.


  • Imogen Cooper piano

Schubert’s German Dances, written when his health was deteriorating in the 1820s, remained unknown to the public until Brahms edited them in the 1860s. Two works by Beethoven include the subtle and inventive Bagatelles Op. 119, brought together by their composer in 1822 and first published in London the following year, and the Sonata Op. 110, one of his late-period masterpieces.

The video of this concert is no longer online, but over 40 other concert videos are available to watch here: Wigmore Hall Concert Video Library

  • Wigmore Hall's live stream of this concert is supported by Hamish Parker
  • Franz Schubert (1797-1828)
        • 12 Deutsche Ländler D790
  • Ludwig van Beethoven (1770-1827)
        • Bagatelles Op. 119
        • Piano Sonata No. 31 in A flat Op. 110
  • Encore
  • Leoš Janáček (1854-1928)
      • On an Overgrown Path
        • VII. Good Night!

Related Series