Monday 13 May 2013 7:30PM

Isabelle Faust violin; Alexander Melnikov piano

Beethoven, Bartók and Brahms


  • Isabelle Faust violin
  • Alexander Melnikov piano

Shifting personal experience and fresh discoveries are vital components of Isabelle Faust’s artistic outlook. The German violinist revels in open dialogue with other musicians, not least her regular duo partner, Alexander Melnikov.

Their latest Wigmore Hall programme moves from Beethoven’s joyful third violin sonata to the gritty expressionism of Bartók’s first violin sonata by way of Brahms’s intensely lyrical Op. 100.

  • Supported by CAVATINA Chamber Music Trust
  • Ludwig van Beethoven (1770-1827)
        • Violin Sonata No. 3 in E flat major Op. 12 No. 3
  • Béla Bartók (1881-1945)
        • Violin Sonata No. 2 in C major BB85
  • Interval
  • Johannes Brahms (1833-1897)
        • Violin Sonata No. 1 in G major Op. 78

We also recommend