Wednesday 15 June 2022 7:30PM

Isabelle Faust violin; Alexander Melnikov fortepiano


Booking information

This event is part of the CAVATINA 25 Scheme. A limited number of free tickets are available to 25 and unders in rows T to V. Log in to book.


This concert will be approximately 2 hours in duration, including an interval


Login to your Wigmore Hall account to access discounted ticket prices. Ticket bookings are subject to a £4 booking fee. This fee covers the whole booking and is not per ticket.

  • Isabelle Faust violin
  • Alexander Melnikov fortepiano

The first three sonatas were composed in 1797-8 and dedicated to Antonio Salieri – one of Beethoven’s teachers. One of the most demanding and ambitious of the series, the much later ‘Kreutzer’ Sonata was initially dedicated not to Rodolphe Kreutzer (who never played it) but to the remarkable musician of African (or possibly West Indian) descent George Bridgetower, with whom the composer fell out after the first performance in Vienna in 1803.

  • This concert is part of the CAVATINA Chamber Music Trust ticket scheme, offering free tickets to those aged 8-25
  • Ludwig van Beethoven (1770-1827)
      • Violin Sonata No. 1 in D Op. 12 No. 1
      • Violin Sonata No. 2 in A Op. 12 No. 2
      • Violin Sonata No. 3 in E flat Op. 12 No. 3
  • Interval
      • Violin Sonata No. 9 in A Op. 47 'Kreutzer'

We also recommend