Thursday 16 June 2022 7:30PM

Isabelle Faust violin; Alexander Melnikov fortepiano


Booking information

This event is part of the CAVATINA 25 Scheme. A limited number of free tickets are available to 25 and unders in rows T to V. Log in to book.

£5 tickets for Under 35s available. Login to book. View all U35 concerts and more information

£5 tickets for Under 35s supported by Media Partner Classic FM


This concert will be approximately 2 hours in duration, including an interval


Login to your Wigmore Hall account to access discounted ticket prices. Ticket bookings are subject to a £4 booking fee. This fee covers the whole booking and is not per ticket.

  • Isabelle Faust violin
  • Alexander Melnikov fortepiano

The Op. 30 set, written in 1801-2, was dedicated to Tsar Alexander I of Russia – though the dedication went unacknowledged and unrewarded until 1815. The original tarantella finale of the A major work was transferred to the ‘Kreutzer’ Sonata and a set of variations substituted. The second sonata is in a characteristically stormy C minor, the third more even-tempered, with a second-movement minuet – the only one in the entire series of works.

  • This concert is part of the CAVATINA Chamber Music Trust ticket scheme, offering free tickets to those aged 8-25
  • Ludwig van Beethoven (1770-1827)
      • Violin Sonata No. 6 in A Op. 30 No. 1
      • Violin Sonata No. 7 in C minor Op. 30 No. 2
  • Interval
      • Violin Sonata No. 8 in G Op. 30 No. 3

We also recommend