Friday 17 June 2022 7:30PM

Isabelle Faust violin; Alexander Melnikov fortepiano


Booking information

This event is part of the CAVATINA 25 Scheme. A limited number of free tickets are available to 25 and unders in rows T to V. Log in to book.


This concert will be approximately 2 hours in duration, including an interval


Login to your Wigmore Hall account to access discounted ticket prices. Ticket bookings are subject to a £4 booking fee. This fee covers the whole booking and is not per ticket.

  • Isabelle Faust violin
  • Alexander Melnikov fortepiano

The final selection consists of three independent sonatas, although Beethoven’s original intention was to publish the works now allocated Op. 23 and Op. 24 together; both were composed in 1801 and dedicated to the wealthy music patron Count Moritz von Fries. The nickname ‘Spring’ postdates the composer’s death. The composer’s final work in the genre (1812) was premièred four years later by the French violinist Pierre Rode and its dedicatee Archduke Rudolph.

  • This concert is part of the CAVATINA Chamber Music Trust ticket scheme, offering free tickets to those aged 8-25
  • Ludwig van Beethoven (1770-1827)
      • Violin Sonata No. 4 in A minor Op. 23
      • Violin Sonata No. 5 in F Op. 24 'Spring'
  • Interval
      • Violin Sonata No. 10 in G Op. 96

We also recommend