Monday 23 December 2019 7:30PM

Isabelle Faust & friends

The Soldier’s Tale

Additional notes

Change of Artist
Due to unforeseen circumstances, Alois Posch (double bass) has had to withdraw from the above concert. Wies de Boevé (double bass) will take his place. The programme and other performers remain the same.

Booking information

£5 tickets for Under 35s available. Login to book. View all U35 concerts and more information
Supported by Classic FM.


This concert will be approximately 2 hours in duration, including an interval


Ticket bookings are subject to a £3 booking fee. This fee covers the whole booking and is not per ticket.

  • Isabelle Faust violin
  • Wies de Boevé double bass
  • Lorenzo Coppola clarinet
  • Javier Zafra bassoon
  • Reinhold Friedrich trumpet
  • Jörgen van Rijen trombone
  • Raymond Curfs drums
  • Dominique Horwitz narrator

A starry group of performers come together to enact Stravinsky’s theatrical parable based on a folk tale about a soldier who sells his fiddle to the devil and first staged in 1918; Isabelle Faust precedes this with the virtuosic Bartók sonata, commissioned by Yehudi Menuhin and premièred by him in New York in 1944.

  • Béla Bartók (1881-1945)
        • Sonata for solo violin BB124
  • Interval
  • Igor Stravinsky (1882-1971)
        • The Soldier's Tale

We also recommend