Tuesday 22 December 2015 7:30PM

Isabelle Faust; Jean-Guihen Queyras; Alexander Melnikov

Schumann, Salvotore Sciarrino and Schubert


  • Isabelle Faust violin
  • Jean-Guihen Queyras cello
  • Alexander Melnikov piano

Three outstanding soloists and deep-thinking chamber musicians join forces to perform a captivating collection of piano trios.

Salvatore Sciarrino’s Second Piano Trio dates from the late 1980s and reflects the composer’s long-standing fascination with sound and silence, and the margins between them.

Jean-Guihen Queyras and his close friends and colleagues conclude with Schubert’s Piano Trio No. 1, famously praised by Schumann for its ‘lyrical and feminine’ grace.

  • Supported by The Hargreaves and Ball Trust
  • Robert Schumann (1810-1856)
        • Piano Trio No. 3 in G minor Op. 110
  • Salvatore Sciarrino (b.1947)
        • Piano Trio No. 2
  • Interval
  • Franz Schubert (1797-1828)
        • Piano Trio in B flat major D898
  • Encore
  • Robert Schumann
      • Piano Trio No. 2 in F major Op. 80
        • III. In mässiger Bewegung

We also recommend