Saturday 17 November 2018 7:30PM

Isabelle Faust violin; Katharine Gowers violin; Rachel Roberts viola; Steven Isserlis cello; Alexander Melnikov piano

Schumann and Fauré


  • Isabelle Faust violin
  • Katharine Gowers violin
  • Rachel Roberts viola
  • Steven Isserlis cello
  • Alexander Melnikov piano

Schumann’s ebullient quintet (1842) – the first important work ever composed for this combination – dates from the year the composer threw himself into writing chamber music, while the two Fauré works represent his late style at its most elusive.

  • Robert Schumann (1810-1856)
        • Violin Sonata No. 1 in A minor Op. 105
  • Gabriel Fauré (1845-1924)
        • Piano Trio in D minor Op. 120
  • Interval
  • Gabriel Fauré
        • Cello Sonata No. 2 in G minor Op. 117
  • Robert Schumann
        • Piano Quintet in E flat Op. 44

We also recommend