Saturday 18 November 2017 7:30PM

James Ehnes violin

JS Bach

Additional notes

There is a pre-concert talk ahead of this concert at 6:00pm


This concert will be approximately 2 hours in duration, including an interval


Ticket bookings are subject to a £2.00 booking fee. This fee covers the whole booking and is not per ticket.

  • Print
  • Email
  • Add to Calendar
  • James Ehnes violin

Bach completed his six sonatas and partitas for solo violin in 1720 at Cöthen. The pieces crown a great tradition of German violin music, transcending existing models to create works of compelling musical interest and jaw-dropping technical demands.

James Ehnes, acclaimed for his probing musicianship and virtuosity, explores the full range of Bach’s invention in two concerts over the course of one weekend.

  • Johann Sebastian Bach (1685-1750)
        • Sonata No. 1 in G minor for solo violin BWV1001
        • Partita No. 1 in B minor for solo violin BWV1002
  • Interval
        • Sonata No. 3 in C major for solo violin BWV1005

We also recommend