Friday 21 September 2018 7:30PM

James Ehnes violin; Andrew Armstrong piano

Schumann, Ravel, Brahms and Corigliano


This concert will be approximately 2 hours in duration, including an interval


Priority Bookings made for the Autumn booking period of our 2018/19 Season are subject to an administration fee of £4.00 per booking.

Add to wishlist

  • James Ehnes violin
  • Andrew Armstrong piano

John Corigliano’s violin sonata put him on the map when his work designed for two equally virtuosic partners won the 1964 Festival of Two Worlds chamber music prize. Here it follows Ravel’s jazz influenced sonata and Brahms's ebullient tribute to Joachim.

  • Robert Schumann (1810-1856)
        • Violin Sonata No. 1 in A minor Op. 105
  • Maurice Ravel (1875-1937)
        • Violin Sonata No. 2 in G
  • Interval
  • Johannes Brahms (1833-1897)
      • F.A.E. sonata (Sonatensatz)
        • Scherzo in C minor
  • John Corigliano (b.1938)
        • Violin Sonata

We also recommend