Sunday 5 May 2019 11:30AM

Jan Vogler cello; Antti Siirala piano

Schumann, Beethoven and Shostakovich


This concert will be approximately 1 hour in duration, without an interval

£16concs£14 includes programme and coffee/sherry/juice.

Ticket bookings are subject to a £3 booking fee. This fee covers the whole booking and is not per ticket.

  • Jan Vogler cello
  • Antti Siirala piano

The German-born, New-York resident cellist and his Finnish pianist partner offer two major sonatas – Beethoven’s last work for the instrument, which prefigures his final period, and Shostakovich’s intense work of 1934, alongside Schumann’s late and expressive pair of movements.

  • Robert Schumann (1810-1856)
        • Adagio and Allegro in A flat Op. 70
  • Ludwig van Beethoven (1770-1827)
        • Cello Sonata in D Op. 102 No. 2
  • Dmitry Shostakovich (1906-1975)
        • Cello Sonata in D minor Op. 40

We also recommend