Tuesday 15 November 2022 7:30PM

Jean-Efflam Bavouzet piano; Orsino Ensemble

Debussy, Magnard, Poulenc and Sancan


This concert will be approximately 2 hours in duration, including an interval


Login to your Wigmore Hall account to access discounted ticket prices. Ticket bookings are subject to a £4 booking fee. This fee covers the whole booking and is not per ticket.

  • Jean-Efflam Bavouzet piano
  • Orsino Ensemble
  • Adam Walker flute
  • Nicholas Daniel oboe
  • Matthew Hunt clarinet
  • Amy Harman bassoon

Sharing the stage with four regular members of the flexible wind ensemble which made its debut at the Aldeburgh Festival in 2018, the French pianist joins with them for a programme including a couple of rarities: the 1946 Sonatine by his own teacher, the composer and pianist Pierre Sancan (1916-2008) – himself renowned as a Debussy interpreter; and the 1894 Quintet by Albéric Magnard (1865-1914).

  • Francis Poulenc (1899-1963)
      • Trio for oboe, bassoon and piano
  • Claude Debussy (1862-1918)
      • Syrinx
      • Première rhapsodie
  • Pierre Sancan (1916-2008)
      • Sonatine for flute and piano
  • Interval
  • Alberic Magnard (1865-1914)
      • Quintet for piano and winds Op. 8

We also recommend