Saturday 23 October 2021 7:30PM

Jean-Efflam Bavouzet piano; Quatuor Danel; Leon Bosch double bass

Debussy and Franck


Download the PDF programme here. Reproduction and distribution is strictly prohibited.

Booking information

£5 tickets for Under 35s available. Login to book. View all U35 concerts and more information

This event is part of the CAVATINA 25 Scheme. A limited number of free tickets are available to 25 and unders. Log in to book.


This concert will be approximately 2 hours in duration, including an interval


Login to your Wigmore Hall account to access discounted ticket prices. Ticket bookings are subject to a £4 booking fee. This fee covers the whole booking and is not per ticket.

  • Jean-Efflam Bavouzet piano
  • Quatuor Danel
  • Marc Danel violin
  • Gilles Millet violin
  • Vlad Bogdanas viola
  • Yovan Markovitch cello
  • Leon Bosch double bass

Debussy composed just one work for the quartet medium – an early work, dating from 1893 – but it is one of the finest and most beloved of its period. The composer dedicated it to his fellow composer Ernest Chausson, and it was premiered in Paris by the Ysaÿe Quartet. Earlier still Debussy had been an organ pupil of César Franck, whose impassioned masterpiece closes the programme. In between, Debussy’s contrasting dances of 1904 are heard in a new arrangement.

  • Supported by CAVATINA Chamber Music Trust
  • Claude Debussy (1862-1918)
      • String Quartet in G minor Op. 10
      • Danse sacrée et danse profane
  • Interval
  • César Franck (1822-1890)
      • Piano Quintet in F minor

We also recommend